Taking the Criticism

Sorry about the lack of posts. I’ve been away. If any of you are the least bit interested in politics I highly suggest checking out IGovern. It’s a camp put on by Generation Joshua. Best week of my life. But, to the writing.

Saturday night I had a dream. I was visiting with some people I knew from before I moved. I was actually just walking up to them, there was barely a “high” when one of them turned to me and said, “You’re really had at writing characters.” I hadn’t seen these people in years, and this is the first thing they say to me. What do they know about writing, especially my writing?

It hit me like a bullet to the chest though. I gave a weak smile, “I know. That’s why I write, to get better.” Or something along those lines. It was a dream, I don’t remember every word. But even though I was really proud of myself for how I handled it throughout the rest of the dream it kept echoing through my head. And when I woke up it stuck with me. It hurt. I try so hard to make good characters. I feel like crafting characters is my best skill in writing. I know they’re not perfect, but I enjoy growing with them. I understand I’m no C.S. Lewis, J. R. R. Tolkien, Jane Austin, or Markus Zusak, but I try to be.

Now to my point. You need criticism. And you should give some criticism. But there is a huge difference between giving healthy criticism and bullying. What that girl said to me in my dream was not helpful. It only caused me pain. Now if she had taken a look at some of my work and said something along the lines of, “Your characters could use a little work.” I can take that. Yeah, it might hurt a little, but no pain no gain. But the pain of stretching and building a muscle, not tearing it.

I’m going to start a speech group this upcoming fall and I’ve been to a few get togethers already. My friend performed her speech, and at the end the kids where made to give some feedback. First they asked what we liked about her speech, then what we didn’t, then what we did. This is how we should go about life. I’m not saying give every kid a participation award. I’m saying tell someone when they’ve done good, and softly and lovingly tell them when they need to fix something.

Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me. I’m rubber, you’re glue, whatever you say bounces off me and sticks to you. These things aren’t true.

sticks and stones

So be careful with your words.

The end.

Brooke

Have fun adventuring!

Leave a Reply

